PayPal Subscriptions – Requirements and options

Updated: October 9, 2017

Plugin requires set-up some settings to make automatic recurring payments running:

1. Credentials

  • API Username – username generated by PayPal
  • API Password – password generated by PayPal
  • API Signature – signature key generated by PayPal for you to enable connectivity with PayPal API

Using of Business or Premier PayPal account is requirement on PayPal side to receive payments over PayPal. If you are using standard personal account update please to Premier or Business – it’s free for use.

How to get your PayPal API credentials

(Official tutorial)

Login to your PayPal account and follow steps below:

Get PayPal API Credentials step 1

Get PayPal API Credentials step 2

2. Instant Paymnet Notifications (IPN)

The correct URL setting for Instant Payment Notifications (IPN) on PayPal website is also required for handling automatic recurring payments.

How to set your IPN URL

Copy generated URL from your WordPress Theme Options -> PayPal:

ait-paypal-subscriptions-1

Login to your PayPal account and follow steps below:

ait-paypal-subscriptions-2 ait-paypal-subscriptions-3 ait-paypal-subscriptions-4

Redirections

  • After approving of payment – page where user is moved after successful confirmation of subscription
  • After cancelling of payment process – page where user is moved after cancelled confirmation

Logging

Turn on logging in case you want store information about each PayPal action. Information are stored in log file is stored in ./wp-content/paypal-info.log

paypal-subscriptions-logging

Selection of payment type

Frontend registration widget allows user select PayPal Recurring type of payment. Dropdown display all enabled payment types defined in Payments Theme Options. Not installed or turned on option is not displayed in this dropdown.

ait-paypal-subscriptions-5

Confirmation of payment

Note please, there may be a delay when payment is credited to your PayPal account. If PayPal Subscription is used, it may take several hours until you receive payment.

It means, also website may receive information about successful payment later and role for registered user is changed to role related to purchased Package after this time.